Why Music?

 

music_voice_of_the_soulI’ve come to think about this blog over the past couple of weeks and why it is that music is so important to me and other people. What is it about music that makes others feel so connected to complete strangers at a bar, or more intimate with loved ones? It doesn’t even have to be a specific genre of music. Even though I am not an EDM fan or a fan of any kind of technologically based music, I can appreciate it for what it is and I have found myself at parties or bars where this kind of music is playing and even I felt more connected to others there just by doing the classic fist pump or head bang. I’m not sure it is something that can be fully explained, it is something that is felt. Any kind of person who has lived any life at all can tell you how music has affected their life and how it has somehow made them feel more connected to others either in that moment, for a lifetime, or all the little moments in between. I think it is very important to remember the power of music in this age of digital worlds and technology. Not only is my generation of millennial’s losing the ability to connect face-to-face with others, I see it happening with older people as well. Music is one of those things that is so transcendent that it is almost impossible to compare it to anything else. I’ve seen studies done showing that the best way to bond a group of people together who hardly know each other is to put them all in a room and have them sing together. It is this musical expression and the release of emotion that binds people together. Music creates this kind of interpersonal connection with others without people even feeling the need to talk about it. It is just something that is felt. Next time you’re at a party, a bar, or social gathering just look around and observe how people are interacting and then think of how it would be if no music was playing at all. So, why music you may ask? As the photo states, music really is the voice of the soul, it is a voice that can be spoken by so many people, but more importantly it can be felt everyone. Why do you think music is so important in connecting people? I would love to hear your comments! If you like what you read, please give me a follow! I’ll follow you back.

Leave a Reply

